That AHA Moment!

Today’s NSV (Non-Scale Victory) is brought to you by the amazing Christina Becket from Sassy Evolution (check them out).

I’ve been struggling with not having a ‘fullness’ trigger since surgery. A lot of people get a heavy feeling or even a stuffy nose when their new pouches are full. I don’t. This makes it really easy for me to over-eat.

I have always been taught to eat until I felt full. That won’t work now because my eyes are, quite literally, bigger than my stomach. So what do I do? Eat until Ms. Pickypouch rebels and I end up dumping? Or obsess about measuring and weighing every mouthful, worrying that I won’t get enough? Neither of these seem like a healthy mindset.

No. The problem is not my stomach, it’s my mind. If I eat what I need for fuel, my body will deal with it. If I’m eating for that ‘full’ sensation then I’ll never know when to stop. If my mind knew how to stop itself at ‘full’ I would never have needed bariatric surgery.

So here is what the new normal looks like for me:

  • I will plan my day so that I know my nutritional needs are covered.
  • I will eat what’s on my plan, allowing for occasional treat because I PLANNED IT.
  • I will stop eating because my body is fuelled enough to run.
  • I will remember that a car runs just as well on half a tank of gas, as long as you fill it up regularly!
Nourished and fueled does not mean full.